Town Council

In Devon there are three tiers of local government: the county council, district councils and town/parish councils.

In South Molton we have the Town Council (based at the Amory Centre), North Devon District Council (based in Barnstaple) and  Devon County Council based in Exeter.

The role of a town councillor can be time consuming and difficult, despite the Town Council’s direct responsibilities being limited. Other tiers of local government, or indeed other organisations (e.g. the NHS or Devon and Cornwall Police), are usually responsible for the things that a local council wants to change.

If you take a look at my Useful Links page you will see who’s responsible for what.

A timetable of Town Council meetings, with associated agendas and minutes, can be seen here.

The Truly Independent Councillor

This site uses cookies. Find out more about this site’s cookies.